Seedless Watermelon

Now, it’s only entry #4, so I’m still finding my feet with this blog. I keep thinking, should I post things I love? Should I post things in a strategic order? Should I develop some sort of pattern?

I think posting things I love is ideal at this stage – nobody wants to read post after post bagging products, or products with significant cons. I want you to understand and see why I love stuff so much.

Which brings me to my favourite nail polish currently… Essie’s ‘Watermelon’ shade. Now, I love all things watermelon. The fruit. The colour. Watermelon nail polish, watermelon lipstick, toy watermelons – all things watermelon. However, I’ve neevr loved Essie, nor understood the craze. Essie hit the mainstream here in Australia via the department store Myer, but as usual, Myer ruined a decent brand. The display at my local Myer quickly dwindled, they always had the same boring colours marked down, and anything decent was an inexplicable $17. Now, I’m an OPI diehard, I’ll pay $20 for those – but another everyday polish brand, selling products for >$15? I dunno…

During my US trip of 2013, I saw that North America was having a love affair with Essie. OPI stands were in a disarray, shades were impossible to find, but the Essie stand? Impeccably organised, everything where it should be, and all the colours of the rainbow, and everything in between. A sucker for clean marketing, I bought into it. They had a bridal range, that although the colours didn’t interest me, the names did. With three close friends getting married last year, I was very interested. However, with names like “Using My Maiden Name” “Meet Me At The Altar” and “No Baggage Please”, I didn’t think these would make the cute gifts for my bride friends as I originally though they might. However, I saw a blue shade that matched my bridesmaid dress for my best friend’s wedding. At the time of my trip, we hadn’t discussed any nitty gritty details about nails or potential colours – but I couldn’t resist the opportunity, so bought it.

Ughhhhhhhhh. What a disgusting formula, what a disgusting colour, what a disgusting purchase. It was a hideous translucent blue, that required 5 coats to look half-decent, and it really wasn’t worth the $US12-ish (which compared to OPI prices in the US, was considered expensive). So, I gave up on Essie, and committed my nail life to OPI.

Fast forward a few months, and Priceline released Essie in their stores. An organised stand, a discount voucher, items included in store-wide sales, and I just couldn’t resist. And this is how Essie ‘Watermelon’ entered my life. 40% off at Priceline, bringing the original RRP of $16.95 down to $10.15, allowed me to trust again.

Image

I LOVE this polish. I’ve taken it with me to my local nail salon a number of times, as there is never anything as worthy in the salon’s pink range. It easily lasts a week, chip free. It does wear down at the tip of the nail after 5 or so days, but it isn’t actually a magical potion, it’s just nail polish. The colour is divine. The formula is divine. The brush is divine. Who knew I could love a nail polish so much?

Would I buy it again? Yes, yes, a thousand times yes. It is my summer version of my winter-staple OPI “Malaga Wine”.
Who would I recommend it to? Anybody who is a pink lover, like myself.
Value for money? Who buys anything full price at Priceline? Wait for the sale, it’s definitely worth $10-$12.
How can you get it? I’ve only mentioned Priceline 3 times.

4 thoughts on “Seedless Watermelon

  1. Pingback: Paint it On: Rimmel Salon Pro Polish | If irritation occurs… discontinue use.

Leave a Reply

