Rub a dub dub… Hot Sugar Scrub

Excuse the extremely tacky headline. I don’t know what I was thinking. I could change it, but I will not.

Yesterday was my birthday, or better yet, this weekend was my birthday weekend. If any of my readers were looking for a new circle of friends, or a new family, I would highly recommend mine. I had a great day, it was a beautifully cool, rainy day (I can’t stand feeling super hot), and I consumed many delicious beverages and some delicious food also.

I was lucky enough to receive lots of amazing gifts – I love stuff, I love buying stuff, I love giving stuff, and I love receiving stuff, so birthday gifts are always loved and appreciated. I got a huge range of gifts yesterday, but interestingly I received a number of beauty products! My best friend, MO, gave me four products, all completely different and unrelated to each other, and her disclaimer was that they must be reviewed for this blog. I won’t ruin the surprise of what they are, but I am really excited!

Which brings me to today’s product, which I also find exciting. It doesn’t look that thrilling, but I promise you, the contents are amazing.

Image

Now, I’ve known of the brand Sanctuary Spa for a long time. I had a cousin from the UK visit about 3 years ago, and she gave my mum some sort of elaborate body and bath gift set, which my mother politely thanked her for, and packed away somewhere. I’ll talk about my mum’s relationship with makeup and skincare some other time, but at this stage I’ll mention that she actually is an avid user of specific products and will use those things religiously – but she is very hard to convert to new products. So, she got this lovely gift pack, stored it away, and I never got a chance to check it out.

Fast forward a few years, and Priceline is stocking a huge range of Sanctuary products. Firstly, the packaging for these products is divine – I love anything minimalist, but at the same time, shiny. This body scrub is just a giant tub really, but their other products are colour coded based on the skin type, with simple product explanations. None of this rubbish about ingredients being extracted from a rare bush on a never travelled mountain in a tribal country, just a description about how to use it, and it’s purpose. I’ve purchased a face product, which I’ll review at a later date.

Back to this body scrub… I actually am not a huge user of body scrubs. I have used exfoliating towels in the shower since my university days, and have never really amped it up or changed it. But I had such faith in the Sanctuary brand, that I decided to give this scrub a chance. I am really glad that I did! First day I used it, I noticed an immediate difference when I applied body lotion, particularly on my very-neglected legs. They felt smoother, and after using it for a week, it’s helped clear an ingrown hair that I had on my knee. However, it isn’t just the result that made me love the product, but the experience. Now, the box description claims it is a “thermal scrub [that] gently warms, invigorates and refines […]”. I was suss about how ‘warm’ it would get.

I think warm is an understatement – it actually felt hot. It was just for a moment, but it was so much warmer than I expected! It felt so nice in summer, imagine how good it will feel in winter?! The product amount in the tub is huge (550g), so I’m not particularly stressed about it running out anytime soon. I used about 3 fingers to scoop out the scrub, and that was enough to scrub both legs. It feels so good, I highly recommend taking a small amount, using it on one body part, then getting another small amount, using it on another, and so forth. I haven’t bothered doing that as the tub is so huge. I don’t have a decent resting place for it in the shower and I fear too much water getting in if I keep opening and closing the lid with the water running. It has very obvious exfoliating granules in it, which I personally loved – when a product claims to exfoliate, I want to feel it exfoliate. There is very little smell – if anything, it smells more medicinal than aromatic, but I don’t think it has a very obvious scent. I wish I could understand how the product warms up so much, but unfortunately I don’t have a chemist friend who can explain this witchcraft to me.

Would I buy it again? Definitely. The heating sensation is just so nice!
Who would I recommend it to? Anyone looking for an introductory body scrub product, or anyone who really enjoys the ‘spa at home’ experience.
Is it value for money? $19.99 is the RRP, I got it at with 20% off, so $15.99. It’s a huge amount of product for the money, especially when you think about how much an ordinary supermarket brand “scrub” costs.
How can you get it? From my beloved Priceline.

P.S. Sorry to all those that received a second version of this post in their email – I had my first blogging disaster, but SIL #2 saved the day!

3 thoughts on “Rub a dub dub… Hot Sugar Scrub

  1. This post looks familiar…

    In other news, I would be interested to see a review of a product you didn’t love. It’s been all a bit too positive so far

  2. Pingback: Sunday Night Pamper (March) | If irritation occurs… discontinue use.

Leave a Reply

