A lil’ lip addiction

I’ll admit early on that lip posts are a bit of a struggle for me. Lips are not my favourite facial feature, and I really struggle to work with them. With my ageing wisdom, I realise that very few people have perfectly shaped, luscious lips, and like any feature, there are always some tricks to tweak and enhance it. Lisa Eldridge has a brilliant tutorial on how to make thin lips look fuller which I highly recommend if you want some tips or ideas – I used her tips to even out my lip shape, and was really happy with the result.

Having said all that, I do still have some lip products I really enjoy using (e.g. Chubby Sticks) and recommend. Today’s product is the Rimmel Lasting Finish by Kate Moss lipstick. I’m trying to push myself to use some sort of lip product everyday, which helped me rediscover these lipsticks quite recently.

Picture 1360

These are a great product, and are perfect for regular use. They have a great price point (RRP is $11.95), and for that amount of money, you get a really buttery, highly pigmented lipstick. I love the simple packaging and range of colours. It’s not a huge range of colours, – enough to give you a good choice, but not too many to confuse you. They have a nice smell (compared with the poison-like smell of some other supermarket brand makeup), and a decent level of moisture. I always apply something under my lipstick for moisture anyway, but this lipstick tops that up a bit as well.

The negatives for this lipstick is that it’s not particularly long-wearing – the longest I’ll get out of it is about 2-4 hours, depending on the level of drinking/eating/talking in which I will be participating. Since all my social events involve at least 2 out of these 3 activities, I always need to top it up. Rimmel stock a limited range of lip pencils (but enough to do the job), so I definitely recommend pairing the lipstick with a pencil if you need to enhance the wear time.

There is also a matte range, which is housed in a red container. I can’t comment on those lipsticks, as I’ve never used them. I love all things matte, but I generally steer away from it for my lips – I need all the reflection I can get!

Would I buy it again? Easily – the range of colours is limited, but it’s a solid performer.
Who would I recommend it to? Anyone looking to expand their lipstick usage, or wanting a decent daily use lipstick.
Is it value for money? That’s what makes it such a good product – yes!
How can you get it? It’s impossible to ignore Rimmel – Priceline, Coles, Woolworths, Target, Big W & K Mart.

2 thoughts on “A lil’ lip addiction

  1. The Kate Moss lipsticks are really good! The matte range actually has much better lasting power just in case you ever wanted to try them out lol 🙂 I find that MAC’s Amplified Creme lipsticks are amazing for both texture (non-drying), lasting power and pigmentation so they might be worth a shot!

    • Ah, don’t get me started on MAC lipsticks. However, they are definitely an investment.
      I’ve got the matte lipsticks on my list for Priceline’s sale next week!

Leave a Reply

