Farewell Summer…

… Hello Autumn! Autumn has to be my favourite season of the year – the colours, the fashion, the weather – all divine. Spring is gorgeous, but I get hay fever, which impacts my ability to enjoy Spring, so Autumn wins by default. This summer, I am well and truly over the heat. I travelled to the US in June 2013, which gave me some bonus heat, and then to the Middle East in October, which taught me what heat truly is – so I’m ready for the cold weather to set in. Obviously I’m in Australia, so it’s not exactly an extremely cold, snowy winter in store, but it’s a nice change from the heat.

autumn1_final

So, in preparation for the arrival of Autumn, I’m maximising my summer nail polish, and will embrace autumn shades as soon as possible. This week, I’m wearing OPI’s ‘Charged Up Cherry’ which is fluro-toned pink polish. It’s definitely not for everybody, and it polarises people in my life. Either people love it, or absolutely hate it; I’m in the middle about it. It’s the first time I’ve put it on this summer, it’s just a bit too fluro for me to love enough for regular use.

Autumn colours, on the other hand, are impossibleĀ not to love! I really need to reshuffle my nail polish storage to make autumn shades easier to access. I was gifted a purple shade of polish last week for my birthday, which I’m very excited to try out. I’ve also busted out my OPI ‘Malaga Wine’ (I actually couldn’t resist, I have it on my toes already), and will continue my hunt for the perfect nude shade. I’m interested in a more grey-toned nude this season, as well as adding the perfect black to my collection.

Autumn and winter fashion is starting to enter the stores, which is making the current heat quite unbearable. Is it too much to ask for the weather to be a balmy 15 degrees on the 1st of March, with a bit of a sharp, cold breeze? I have scarves and jackets to wear!

No recommendations in this blog post, consider it my ode to Autumn.

autumn-leaves-close-up-17072(Image courtesy of Google Images – I just want you to feel as inspired for Autumn as I currently feel)

2 thoughts on “Farewell Summer…

Leave a Reply

