What’s all the buzz about?

Burt’s Bees, I have really tried with you. I don’t think I’ve been gifted so much of one brand of skincare before, in addition to what I have bought myself. Yet, I cannot love you, nor can I even like you. The principles of this brand sound great on paper (or screen) – no animal testing, socially responsible recyclable packaging and all natural ingredients. Plus, the packaging is quite sweet! I love honey and honey-related items (although I’m terrified of bees, but that is a story for another day), so I had really high hopes for this brand.

I’ve been using their products for over 2 years, and have trialled a number of items – plain lip balm, tinted lip balm, body wash, body lotion, makeup wipes, hand cream, foot cream, cuticle cream and even the eye cream! I have not been impressed with any of these products, or even been able to enjoy using any of them. They are quite readily available in Australia – Priceline, Myer and David Jones all stock this brand, as well as large and small chemists.

Image The makeup wipes left me with stinging skin, so were relegated for use when doing a smokey eye and all that is required is a small clean up under the eye. The eye cream left me with almost sagging skin, I actually thought I saw the start of a fine line near my eyes, so immediately discontinued use after this, to see the problem go away. The cuticle cream had a lemon stench that even I, one of the greatest citrus lovers to have ever lived, couldn’t stand. The hand and foot creams are not worthy of a mention – but at least they didn’t cause a negative response. The body wash is one of the only products I liked, the smell was a gorgeous honey smell, but unfortunately it doesn’t stay on the skin, even when layered with the lotion. Finally, the lip balm was fine… just fine. But for $6.95, there are cheaper options on the market that do a better job (e.g. Lucas’ Papaw Ointment $4.95).

Would I buy it again? I’m not going to lie to you. The marketing is good and it’s in all my favourite stores – so if they came out with a new product that looked good and made grand promises, I’d give it a go. But if the product line remained static, I wouldn’t touch it, and would never replace any of my current products.
Who would I recommend this to? Nobody, unless someone actually had money that they would otherwise burn. In that case, I would recommend the body wash, just because it smells nice during use.
Is it value for money? The prices aren’t horrendous, but based on this review, do you think this question is necessary?
How can you get it? Don’t worry about it.

Image

4 thoughts on “What’s all the buzz about?

  1. I’m a sucker for packaging and have been mild tempted by Burt’s bees, thankfully now I won’t make that mistake.

  2. Pingback: Sunday Night Pamper (March) | If irritation occurs… discontinue use.

  3. Pingback: The US Wishlist: Skincare | If irritation occurs… discontinue use.

Leave a Reply

