A haul lotta’ fun


So today was one of my favourite beauty days of the year – a day when Priceline has 40% off all cosmetics. Whee! I made up a plan yesterday, browsed the website for some items that I’ve been interested in, and jotted down some notes about what I wanted. For any non-Australian readers, Priceline is the Australian version of UK’s Superdrug, or USA’s Duane Reade. The only better offer that happens in the yearly calendar is when Priceline offers 40% off all cosmetics and skincare. There is a lot of skincare that I’m dying to try at the moment, but I can wait for the skincare sale.

Now, my disclaimer for this post is just a heads up – I don’t plan to do a lot of haul posts. I don’t mind watching haul vlogs, or reading haul posts, as I like to know about products in other parts of the world, but overall I think they are a bit of a pointless blurb. The products haven’t been tested, tried or reviewed; just knowing what stuff is being purchased isn’t very helpful. But this sale only comes occasionally, and a lot of the products I bought I’m fairly confident about – heavily researched from other blogs and reviews, it’s more about seeing how it translates to my skin type and tone. So if you’re not a lover of haul posts, forgive me this once, and believe me when I say that these (hopefully) won’t happen very often. If you love haul posts, then take solace in knowing that when I buy any interesting product (in a bulk purchase or by itself), you will know about it.

Haul

So, in brand order:
Rimmel
Match Perfection Foundation in Shade 300 ‘Sand’ – this is a bit dark for me, unless I’m super tanned. I love this foundation, so this was just a sensible restock.
Scandaleyes Eyeshadow Stick in ‘Bad Girl Bronze’ – this was a rave review from Lily Pebbles, so I figured I should give it a go. A lot of the other colours were too shiny for my liking, so it may be a bit of a risk for my taste.
60 Seconds Nail Polish in ‘Aye, Aye, Sailor’ – I love me some navy, and one of my friends raves about the Rimmel 60 Seconds polishes, so figured this is the time to give it a try.
Exaggerate Full Colour Lip Liner in ‘Red Diva’ – this was just something missing from my collection, and seemed like a safe choice.
Bourjois
I’m already an owner of the Healthy Mix Foundation, which I like for low-coverage days. A 40% off sale is enough to encourage me to try some of the other items in the Bourjois range. This brand hasn’t been on sale in Priceline for ages, so I feared it would all sell out quickly – turns out nobody really cares about it in my suburb.
Happy Light Foundation in Shade 54. The shades in Bourjois foundations are really limited for darker skins; I’m a 54 in the Healthy Mix, so I’m hoping this shade will work for me too. There was no tester in store. Why do people steal testers? I can think of nothing more gross to have in my makeup collection.
Colour Edition 24hr Cream to Powder shadow in ‘Petale de glace’ – the packaging reminded me a lot of Maybelline Colour Tattoo, so I am really keen to try this out. The tester felt very different from the Colour Tattoo range, it definitely turned to a powdery finish. There are only 3 colours stocked here in Aus, so I went with a safe golden shade.
Rouge Edition Lipstick in ‘Violine Strass’ – it was really tough to pick lip colours today. I didn’t want anything bright, or shimmery, or tacky – but seems like those key words are hot words currently. This seemed like a safe option, a classic shade – I was mostly interested in testing out the formula.
Little Round Pot (eyeshadow) in Shade 13 – this just seemed interesting, and since I couldn’t find everything on my list, I had a bit of room to try something new.
Revlon
Lip Butter in ‘Pink Truffle’ – I tried this tonight and the shade reminded me a lot of my beloved Clinique Chubby Stick in Mega Melon – I definitely can’t go wrong with this!
Super Lustrous Lipstick in ‘Pink Cognito’ – a really pretty shade, and the packaging is just so pretty!
Lipburst Balm Stain in ‘Smitten Eprise’ – Priceline looks like it’s getting ready to receive all the Chubby Stick wannabes, this was the only version available today, so I thought, why not?
Miscellaneous
Sinful Colours in ‘Aubergine’ – I’ve been eyeing this off for ages, and even tried to buy it in Target one day – wouldn’t scan, so I didn’t bother.
Maybelline Express Polish Remover – it claims to remove polish from each finger in a second! I had to try it, especially at a reduced rate. I’m in the market for an OPI-quality remover without the OPI price tag, and was recently disappointed by a Sally Hansen remover. I was excited enough to try this out tonight – it’s ah-mazing!
Essie polish in ‘Master Plan’ – I’m a new convert to Essie, so trying to build up my wanted shades in this brand instead of OPI. I’ll be interested to see how this colour turns out.
Sally Hansen nail files – errr, not sure why I left this to last, this was a purely functional purchase.
For any Aussie readers who didn’t know and are interested, Priceline’s sale will continue today (Wednesday 12th March, 2014). Happy shopping!
polish_haul
6 thoughts on “A haul lotta’ fun

  1. Nice purchases! I got a few things today but was quite disappointed that the priceline near my uni didn’t have all the brands- like Bourjois ;(( I did pick up Essie’s watermelon, among others after reading your blog!

    • Oh dear, Bourjois was one of the ones I was MOST interested in – too expensive at RRP, but very appealing with 40% off.
      I hope you are as pleased with Essie’s Watermelon as I was!
      Thanks again for reading and commenting!

  2. I love a good haul, but I have recently been inspired to be a little more environmentally conscious around palm oil. Do you know if any of those products are palm oil free? I would like to see you review something that is environmentally friendly (I know Lush products tick that box).

    • My understanding re: palm oil is pretty limited, though I do agree it’s important to reduce how much we support the palm oil industry. I try to avoid it in foods, and even crazily read some paleo enthusiast promoting palm oil as a better choice for oils, due to limited processing – errr?
      Anyways, I actually strongly suspect that none of these products are truly palm oil free. European standards as well as Australian standards means that cosmetic companies are not required to state whether products include palm oil, and instead simply can use the term “vegetable oil”. A number of derivates used in cosmetics have a component of palm oil, including isopropyl and glycerine – really common inclusions! So, although I’m not proud to admit it, I think it’s safe to assume that all of these products include palm oil, and if they don’t themselves, there would be other products in their brand that do.

      I am very interested in reviewing Lush however, mostly due to it’s cult status in the US. I love their bath products, but haven’t tried a lot of their other ranges, e.g. shampoos etc., so I’ll definitely add it to the list.

      Thanks for reading and commenting, friend of the Orangutans.

Leave a Reply

