Skip a step… Nivea In Shower Body Lotion

A birthday gift review, scream my tens of readers! Just what everyone has been waiting for! I figured I may as well continue the birthday gift reviews with the easiest product, the Nivea In Shower Body Lotion. It was the easiest because a) I had been thinking about buying this since it’s introduction in late 2013, b) it was one of the cheaper items and therefore not as tempting to hoard, and c) the opportunity to use it was high as it is a shower product

Image

I didn’t have huge expectations for this product – the idea of combining a body lotion into the shower seems quite ludicrous, especially as I have been expertly taught to moisturise immediately after bathing for my entire life. I generally like Nivea lotions for post-shower application though, and the idea of being able to skip a step is very intriguing.

In terms of use, the bottle explains quite simply to use a body wash first, apply the lotion, then rinse it off. The packaging is perfection, an upside down tube with a flip-top lid (you hear that, Sanctuary?). The tube is quite large, so I feel you definitely got a decent amount of product for your buck. However, I will say that after having used it intermittently for a few weeks now, the product does get used up fast – a traditional Nivea lotion in the same size bottle would last a lot longer.

So, using it is easy enough. It doesn’t leave any residue in the shower (you still listening, Sanctuary?), and is super quick and efficient to use. I haven’t used it nightly due to my above mentioned moisturiser training, but I’ve used it on nights when I really want to be over and done with the shower as quick as possible. The smell is lovely, if you already enjoy the Nivea lotion scent (which I do), and it really does leave you feeling moisturised. It’s an interesting product however, in that you can almost feel a thin layer on you when you first step out of the shower. That does go away, but it’s a very unusual feeling after having a shower. The first time I used it, I scratched my arm after getting out, and noticed that my scratching hands’ nails had some residue under it. This did kind of gross me out, so I’ve modified my post-shower scratching habits. Another interesting feature was that once I got out of the shower after using this product, the bathroom temperature didn’t feel quite as low as usual. I guess it really does provide a thin layer over the skin. This is an intriguing sensation, but nothing horrible – the science seems to check out.

Overall, I was pretty pleased with this product. I don’t think I would replace my normal body lotion with this, but it is excellent when you want to reduce your shower steps and therefore save some time.

Would I buy it again? Sure.
Who would I recommend this to? Individuals who are lazy with moisturising.
Is it value for money? I think the RRP is around $7-9, but I’ve seen it on sale for $3.98 – definitely worth it at that price! [seen at Priceline and Big W for that price]
How can you get it? Any store stocking Nivea – Priceline, Big W, Kmart, supermarkets, Target – it’s easy to find.

5 thoughts on “Skip a step… Nivea In Shower Body Lotion

  1. I was quick to test out this product as I am an avid moisturiser. I have similarly been trained with my post shower rituals. I don’t think it replaces that process but it surely helps when in a rush. My biggest complaint is the packaging. After the first few times, it clogs up in the nozzle and it becomes really hard to get a decent amount out. I have come to taking off the lid and going straight to the source. I agree that you need to use a lot of the product and thus it runs out quickly. I only restock when I catch it on sale. I can live without it at it’s RRP. RS Out.

    • Welcome to the blog RS, thanks for commenting. I personally haven’t had any issues with blocked nozzles, so I got away on that one. I’m glad I’m not the only one who notices the excessive product used… Maybe it’s because we can see the product washing away rather than being absorbed by the skin, so we end up using more? Who knows. It is an ideal product for a rushed shower though – like me, tonight!

Leave a Reply

