Love at First Use: Bourjois Happy Light Foundation

I know I’m giving a lot of Bourjois love this week, but it was a large percentage of my Priceline haul two weeks ago, and they were the products I was most interested to try out. I started using the Bourjois Healthy Mix Foundation last year, after Lisa Eldridge kept busting it out in her tutorials. I couldn’t resist and started using it in Shade 54. The mix was nice, but way too sheer for my full-coverage desires, and the shade was too light for me – so was always mixed with a darker shade.

Image

Fast forward to 2014, I still have my Healthy Mix, and despite it’s sheer coverage, I can see why it’s popular – it feels really nice on the skin, has a nice scent, and blends well. Given the 40% off sale at Priceline, I decided to try a different foundation – the Happy Light foundation. Again, very limited shades (4 shades), and I went for 54 Beige again. There was no tester, so I checked the 53, and decided 54 was a safe bet. A safe bet indeed – the colour turned out perfect. A much better match than the Healthy Mix 54 shade, and an even better formula!

Image

This foundation, like the Healthy Mix, feels great on the skin. Doesn’t feel too chemical-ly, has a nice scent, and provides medium-full coverage. This foundation blends a lot better than the Healthy Mix. I’ve been applying it with my new Real Techniques buffing brush (which I will discuss at a later date), and the smallest pump goes a long way. The coverage is good, and provides a really solid base without being too heavy. Now I’m not one for a no-makeup makeup look (I figure if I’m wearing it, I may as well show it), but this foundation really works perfectly for that – evens out your base, and looks very natural.

The packaging really works for me – a very sweet peachy pink pump glass bottle, and plenty of product (30mL). I’m a diehard Rimmel Match Perfection daily user and despite trialling other products, have never managed to reduce my usage, but this foundation has been worthy. In my case, It doesn’t need the Match Perfection to correct the shade, so can be used by itself. The finish is definitely heading towards a “dewy” or “glowing” finish, without quite being there. I definitely would reconsider this for an event where I would be in front of the camera a lot (which is actually extremely rare), but for regular use, it’s perfect.

Would I buy it again? For sure.
Who would I recommend this to? Anyone looking for a natural-look finish, with the magic of a more full-coverage foundation – i.e. one that actually corrects any blemishes and imperfections (otherwise, what is the point?).
Is it value for money, and how can you get it?  In the foundation market, it is definitely worth it. The RRP is $29.00 (Priceline), but it can be sourced on Asos for <$20. I got it for $18.00 at the Priceline sale.  

4 thoughts on “Love at First Use: Bourjois Happy Light Foundation

    • I’m not into it personally. I find I use more product this way, and it ends up feeling a bit messy. In terms of finish, I definitely prefer brush application, I personally end up with a more even finish this way. I can’t even think of the last time I applied with fingertips – I’m a long time lover of brushes.

Leave a Reply

