Scrub a Dub Dub: Facial Scrubs

Firstly, apologies for being a bit lax with the posts lately, I blame the Sydney weather! I understand now the importance of artificial lighting; currently I’m relying on natural daylight for my blog photos, and the sunlight quality has been particularly poor this week.

Regular readers will know I love a good, grainy scrub. I’ve recently expanded my scrub range, after years of using one product religiously. My current scrub repertoire includes: ASAP Daily Exfoliating Facial Scrub, St Ives Blemish Control Apricot Scrub and Dermalogica daily microfoliant. If you love to scrub a dub dub like I do, read on!

Scrub Collection

ASAP Daily Exfoliating Facial Scrub

This scrub has to be my Holy Grail scrub product. Although the name and marketing suggests it can be used on a daily basis, I personally use it 2-3 times a week maximum. It has a 14% glycolic acid content, so I’m always careful to apply an SPF moisturiser afterwards. It is noticeably grainy (don’t waste my time and say you’re a scrub if I can’t feel any granules), and after using it, my skin is left feeling soft and smooth. I really think the addition of glycolic acid to the granules tips this over the edge as my ultimate product. The packaging is great; it has a little push top lid that snaps closed, so this happily lives in my shower.
RRP: $49.00 – I buy mine on Skincare Store and there is constantly some sort of 20/25/30% off sale.

St Ives Blemish Control Apricot Scrub

Now I’ve tried St Ives before, knowing it has a bit of a cult status around the world for it’s wallet-friendly skincare products. They’ve never done anything for me, so I gave up on them. Last year, I travelled to the Middle East, and someone I met on my trip bought this scrub, and it came in a BOGOF pack – St. Ives managed to weasel its way back into my life. Due to the desert conditions, I was hesitant to use the ASAP scrub too much, as I was really over-exposed to the sun. This scrub has now become a staple part of my routine – I usually use it around 2 times a week, on the days I’m not using the ASAP scrub. It smells delicious, and has a really nice almost mud mask-like texture – and y’all know how I love a good mask. It’s cheap as chips, and can be easily sourced – Priceline, Woolworths, Coles, Big W, etc.
Does it help with breakouts? Not as much as the ASAP, but it’s a great scrub to get your skin feeling squeaky clean mid-week, with minimal effort. I do find the granules get in my eyes, but I think this is more a reflection of my scrubbing technique. I’m actually not sure if the same product is available in Australia, but I have repurchased an Ageless Skin Apricot Scrub – perhaps I’ll be raving about that next time?
RRP: $9.99 – also constantly available on sale.

Dermalogica daily microfoliant

Now, this is a very recent addition to my routine. I think of it more as a polisher than a deep cleaning scrub. I’ve been using it as part of my morning routine, about 2-3 times per week. It’s great for something different for my skin, and has a very unique application technique. It comes in a powder format, you put about a tablespoon of powder into wet hands and then lather it up to make it into a scrub. Feels gentle on the skin, and isn’t messy at all. It’s a rice-powder based product, and I was knocked for six when I smelt it once lathered up – revolting. I just cannot get over the smell – it is so bad. It’s nice to know that products aren’t loaded up with perfumes, but c’mon Dermalogica, at least make it smell medicinal! It does feel nice on the skin, and makes my skin look fresh and awake once used, but the smell is definitely worth considering before you add this to your routine.
RRP: $71.00 – I bought it for $58.65 on Adorebeauty (side note: ordered Tuesday 8pm, it was on my doorstep Thursday 8am!).

Which one do I recommend? If you are in the market for a serious scrub, and glycolic acid doesn’t scare you, go for the ASAP Daily Exfoliating Facial Scrub. It can definitely be used as a daily scrub – I just personally found that my skin responded really well when I gave it a break between uses. It’s not ridiculously expensive, the packaging is a great design and it has really helped control my breakouts and oil levels.

How can you get it? Plenty of Australian beauty salons stock ASAP, otherwise I am a diehard Skincare Store customer.

6 thoughts on “Scrub a Dub Dub: Facial Scrubs

  1. Ohhh I’ve been shown that dermalogica scrub, and the powder was a major turn off. I don’t think I could ever be convinced.

Leave a Reply

