Beauty Cults: Revlon Colorburst Balm

Revlon Color Burst

Australians, this range has been a long time coming. For too long, we have seen these balms featured in the vlogs of the Americans and the British. Finally, they have reached our shores. Why products take so long to launch in Australia, I’ll never understand. Are we not enough for you, Revlon?

I picked up two of the balms from Priceline – they had a BOGOF for $17.95. There are two different types within the range – Matte and Lacquer. The idea of the matte really appealed to me, until I saw the range of colours on offer. Head over to the Revlon site if you’re interested in seeing the range – they have an interactive page to show you the colours.

matte range
(Photo courtesy of Ebay)

I found the matte really tricky to select from – I like pigmentation, but I do also like subtlety on a daily basis. I only wear bright or deep lip colours on special occasions, and was really keen to find something that I would like to use regularly. I ended up selecting 225 Sultry Sulfureuse, which is a pinky brown shade (it’s the very last shade on the left in the above picture). There is no debating whether it’s a true matte balm – this is severely matte. The lacquer shades were easier to choose from – I picked up 115 Whimsical Fantaisiste, which is a shimmery fuchsia shade. I easily could have selected one or two more colours as they definitely were more my style for an everyday look. The lacquer balms reminded me more of my beloved Clinique Chubby Sticks, in that it had quite a lot of colour balanced with quite a lot of balm. The matte balm, on the other hand, doesn’t have the same level of moisturiser as the Chubby Stick, so it didn’t quite compare. The matte one is heavily pigmented, which isn’t what I’m looking for on a daily basis – it definitely needs a mirror and careful application, and frankly, I want to be able to slap it on with minimal help. In the same breath, I have to mention that it’s wearing power is excellent. I wore it all day to work – some eating, some drinking and plenty of talking and it was still noticeably present by 4pm. Interestingly, it did make my lips tingle, and I’ve just checked the ingredients list – contains peppermint oil.

The packaging is divine – the balm container is a fairly accurate representation of the colour inside, which makes for easy use. It has a standard twist up design, and a matching colour lid. I think I’ll head towards the lacquer section next time there is a bargain to be had.

Would I buy it again? Perhaps. They would have to be on sale and offer a very tempting colour. There are a lot of crayon style lip products on the market nowadays, so I would probably try out some others.
Who would I recommend this to? Anybody who loves a cult product. If you’re just really interested in a crayon-style lipstick, and you have a bigger budget, I still rate Clinique’s Chubby stick as a better option.
Is it value for money? It’s way more affordable than the Chubby Stick.
How can you get it? Myer, Priceline, Target, Big W. It’s very new, so I think there will be plenty of specials on these products for a while.

4 thoughts on “Beauty Cults: Revlon Colorburst Balm

  1. I love Sultry! Although it’s a lot brighter when I wear it than it was swatched 🙂 I was going to go with whimsical fantasy too but wasn’t so sure on the glitter.

    Great post! x

    • Thanks! It was a recent acquisition, a belated birthday gift from a friend, who has faith in my blog! It’s icing on the cake that I love pink!
      Thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

