So you want to start a brush collection? (Just for fun)

As the title suggests, these are all your bonus brushes. This is by no means an exhaustive list – there are plenty of fun brushes you can add. These are more the brushes I recommend if you’ve got some extra coin, want to build your technique, or even better, someone wants to gift you some brushes (?!).

Image

Lipstick/Concealer Brush
The one pictured above is from The Body Shop range, and is marketed as a concealer and lip brush (and I do use it interchangeably). Perfect to really pack a lip product into your lips, and great to tidy up lip edges with a bit of foundation/concealer. I personally use my flat foundation brush to apply concealer (a tip I got from a MUA a few years ago), so now this brush is primarily used for any deep lip colours I may apply.
RRP: $14.95

Image

Lash Brush
Pictured above is the MAC 204 Lash Brush, which is really for illustration purposes; I don’t personally own the MAC version. Now this is used to tidy up brow hairs, and comb all the hairs into place. I have occasionally used it to tidy up any clumpy mascara, but this is extremely rare (I’m more inclined to use a tissue to clean up any clumps). Instead, I use this daily to get my brows into order. I don’t have unruly brows, but I have a few hairs that don’t like to stick with the pack – I can’t really notice them, but I can really notice the difference when I use this to brush through the hairs. Plenty of eyebrow pencils come with this included (Chanel does one with it included), but none of the eyebrow kits I use have ever included it. I have the Manicare Artiste Lash Brush (I’m not entirely sure, but I think it was <$15), which is a great dupe. As long as the brush is firm and strong, it will last. Plenty of companies have brushes they market as “Lash & Eyebrow Combs”, but they lie – this is a much better option; I personally find the combs useless.
RRP: $18.00 (for the MAC 204 Lash Brush)

Image

Angled Brush
This brush came in my original MAC Face Brush set (that I’ve mentioned before), and was pretty unloved for a long time. I used it very occasionally to apply some darker outer corner eyeshadow, but really, it didn’t get much attention. I still use it if I’m ever tempted to do a shadow liner, but again, this is quite rare. My daily use for this however is to apply some light colour through my brows. I use a powder brow kit from Smashbox, and this brush does almost all the work. Before I used the Smashbox pot, I used a $2 Innoxa dark brown eye shadow that I dug out of a bargain bin – and the brush still worked its magic. I love it so much for my eyebrows that it doesn’t get used for shadows anymore, but it can definitely be utilised as a fun additional brush in a kit.
RRP: $37.00 (for the MAC 263 Small Angle Brush)

So, that is it for my brush collection posts – for the time being! Thanks for reading along, and for the feedback provided (whether it be privately or publicly on this blog). I hope it has been useful for anybody considering brushes, and if anybody has any recommendations, please comment below!

Leave a Reply

