Beauty Burn: Philosophy Hope in a Jar

Oh, what an exciting purchase this was! I picked this moisturiser up late last year when transiting through Singapore’s Changi Airport, but it’s taken me a few months to get to this jar. I bought a travel pack, which included the ‘Purity’ cleanser, this moisturiser and a serum, ‘When Hope is Not Enough’. I busted out the cleanser immediately, and started using the serum soon after. I quite like Philosophy’s packaging and look – quite minimalist and neat.

Now, the serum was a bit disappointing – very tacky upon application, and a really unpleasant smell. But it didn’t seem to do any harm, so I’ve maintained using it once or twice a week, just for the sake of using it up. About 3 weeks ago, I finally decided to give ‘Hope in a Jar’ a workout. My initial thoughts were that the moisturiser had actually gone off – the texture was really strange, and the smell was really pungent. I hate to waste things, and this was brand new (and I’ve never had a product like this go bad so quickly), so I slapped it on my face anyway.

OH DEAR… THE BURNING. Not only does this stuff stink, but it also burns. And I’m not afraid of a burn – I love a good burn-y mask, a burn-y exfoliator, a deep glycolic peel burn. But this stuff just stings for the sake of stinging – it doesn’t seem to have any value or purpose in its burn. This is the kind of sting that brings tears to my eyes. Add to that, the smell… it just reeks. I love anything medicinal, anything fruity, anything floral, anything woody, anything scentless – so what the heck is this scent category? It just smells awful. And not only does it smell on application, but the smell lingers! I put this on one night and went to bed on freshly washed sheets – I could still smell the scent on my pillow the following night!

It’s a souffle texture and has a yellow-ish tinge – which is why I was convinced it was past its use-by date. A quick google tells me that it had not gone off, but in fact, that was it’s design. The smell, the sting and the texture were noted on a lot of reviews (including the Philosophy site itself, and Makeup Alley), so it’s definitely not just me. There were still a lot of positive reviews, so I guess there is a population for whom this works, but I’m not part of it.

Image

 

Would I buy it again? I’m not even sure what to do with the remaining product!
Who would I recommend this to? Not even my worst enemy.
Is it value for money? $20.00 (15mL), $45.00 (60mL). It’s definitely not overly expensive, but I think of it as quite worthless.
How can you get it? I have gotten Philosophy samples from Mecca Cosmetica and Adore Beauty (online), so you might come across a sample the same way. Otherwise, if for some odd reason you are attracted to a stinky, burning product, you can find Philosophy in David Jones, Adore Beauty, and Mecca Cosmetica/Maxima.

9 thoughts on “Beauty Burn: Philosophy Hope in a Jar

Leave a Reply

