So you want to wash your brush collection?

Now that you’ve rushed out and purchased all my previously recommended brushes, the next step after enjoying them, is washing them. I used to dread washing my brushes, but I’ve gotten myself into a pretty good rhythm now. I actually don’t own a spot cleaner, but I can usually survive until the end of the week when I can do a deep clean of my brushes. For those following along at home, you will need the following:

Required Items
Water source (I just use my bathroom sink)
Johnsons Baby Shampoo (I’ve had a medium sized bottle for over 2 years now)
A towel (I use a hand towel)

As you can, a fairly simple list. I try to get my brushes washed after I’ve applied my makeup for work, but before I head out for the day – so my time frame is quite short! Especially as the weather cools, I like to give my brushes most of the day to dry – so if I’m heading somewhere that evening and need to apply makeup, I’ll either postpone the washing, or leave the brushes I need out from the wash.

Now, before I start washing, I make sure I’ve laid the towel flat (I have a bath tub step in my bathroom, so I put a lot of stuff on there, including my brush towel), and I roll up one side of it, so that I can create an angle.

RIZ_1820

You may commence washing. I wet my hands,  wet the brush, squirt in a tiny bit of baby shampoo, and start working up a lather using the brush. This gets out a lot of the product; I use a back and forth motion, as well as create circles (it depends on the type of brush and length of hairs). I try to push the shampoo and lather to the dips between my fingers to create a slight groove – so to push the brush hairs around a lot more, and dislodge any tougher or deeper product. I don’t wash the shampoo right away – I rest the brush above the sink, and then wash them all out at the end. In my mind, I like to think the shampoo is using that extra time to eat away any remaining product. Once I’ve done a decent batch of the brushes, I’ll wash out the soap, and lay the brushes on the towel.

RIZ_1823 RIZ_1824

 

 

 

Left : Before working up a lather
Below: Working up a lather

 

For the sake of the life of my brushes, I try to avoid tipping the brush in a way that the water can travel down the brush hairs – I don’t want any glue damaged. I also give them a quick back and forth wipe on the edge of the towel before laying them to dry for the rest of the day.

 

RIZ_1825

So, that’s it! Really simple, if I’m really short on time, I just do a few brushes (you’ll notice in the photo above that my brushes aren’t perfectly white – I’ve rushed it, they usually go perfectly clean). We all know it’s good to wash them weekly to stop bacteria growth, but unfortunately, we don’t live in a perfect world. It’s especially hard to tell yourself to do it when you’re not a makeup artist, and know that the brushes are only touching your skin. But it really does make a difference to how your brushes feel on your skin, and then there’s always the benefit of decreasing your chances of breaking out from dirty brushes. 🙂

Until next time, reader… 

3 thoughts on “So you want to wash your brush collection?

  1. Pingback: 7 ways to a Sunday Treat Yo’Self | If irritation occurs… discontinue use.

Leave a Reply

