Slap it on: Clarins Blue Orchid Face Treatment Oil

I’m such a sucker for a retail hit, particularly when shopping alone. When I’m shopping with a friend, it’s quite easy for me to buy nothing, and return home still feeling somewhat satisfied. Shopping alone, and no purchases? Sad face for me.

I’ve been interested in hitting up the Clarins counter at Myer since MO [a regularly mentioned friend on this blog] decided to trial some products before Christmas. At the time, I wasn’t so interested in the skincare, but instead was drawn towards a gold shade eyeshadow quad – like I need more gold toned eyeshadow palettes in my life? I managed to walk away, but in the back of my mind, I was interested in returning. The beauty of MO investigating the products was that I could find out the prices, so I could make a confident return to the counter. I am so easily influenced once I hit a counter, regardless of how ridiculously priced a product may be, so it really pays for a person like me to do some research beforehand.

Anyways, so it was time for a new cleanser, so I figured a Clarins cleanser was worth a trial. Because I am so easily influenced, I couldn’t help but be interested in other products in the range. The sales assistant showed me a small handful of products (and of course I couldn’t help but ask about the gold eyeshadow quad, just in case it was still available), and she showed me some serums and some oils. I’ve been reading a lot about the use of oils within one’s skincare regime, and one of my favourite bloggers (Makeup by Patricia) is a huge advocate for facial oils. I rubbed and scrubbed a number of products, and the Blue Orchid Oil was a stand out. Easily absorbed, gorgeous smell, and would finally fill my need for a facial oil.

Image

 

Dayum Clarins, where have you been all my life? I am in LOVE with this oil. The smell is so addictive, I just want to use it every night. Since it’s an oil, and I am prone to oily skin most of the time, I’m trying to avoid using it every night. I obviously automatically wanted to pick up the oil for Oily Skin (which is the Lotus Face Treatment Oil), but the sales assistant really recommended I try the dehydrated skin version (the Blue Orchid) as we’re heading into winter, where most people are prone to dehydration. It is perfection for my skin – it really does eat up the oil, so I think the dehydrated skin recommendation was best. My skin feels amazing immediately after application, and looks amazing once I wake up. It has really helped brighten up my skin, and is such a lush addition to my pamper nights!

Would I buy it again? No doubt. I would like to try some other facial oils, but this is really quite perfect.
Who would I recommend this to? Anybody wanting to up their skincare treatment; anybody who is a sucker for products that smell amazing; anybody with dehydrated skin.
Is it value for money? I’ve been using it almost daily (it just smells so good – it requires a lot of discipline to only use it every 2nd night), and I’ve barely made a dent in the 30mL level. It comes with a pippet, and about 4 small drops covers my face easily. It retails for $49.00.
How can you get it? Clarins counter at Myer.

Sorry for my silence over the past week readers – had to fight off a bug last week, and had a baby shower over the weekend! 

One thought on “Slap it on: Clarins Blue Orchid Face Treatment Oil

  1. Pingback: Sunday Night Pamper (April) | If irritation occurs… discontinue use.

Leave a Reply

