US Beauty Burn: Bath & Body Works

Ok, so this is more of a brand burn, rather than a beauty burn. This store is mentioned by pretty much every American You-Tuber I’ve seen, and I couldn’t recall seeing it on my last trip to the US. I was keen to make sure I found one this time, and was even thinking I would stupidly buy some small size candles! I love candles, and was under the impression that these candles are to-die-for.

I was thrilled to find a Bath & Body Works in the Westfield San Francisco Centre, which is a pretty fancy shopping mall in SF. It had huge sale signs on the outside, and baskets of goodies when I entered… Or so I thought.

HOW IS THIS STORE SO POPULAR??? For the Aussie readers, the comparison point I have for the products in this store is like, the Target and Kmart scented body products that we can find in Aus. Heavily perfumed, cheap formula, and tacky packaging. Imagine a WHOLE STORE with this type of product! Gross! The candles had the potential to smell OK, if they had about 50% less fragrance in the wax.

It’s not like I am obsessed with spending $40 on a candle, but I do prefer the result in my home of one $40 candle, than of twenty $2 candles. People were going nuts in the store, which was inexplicable to me. I can’t stand those heavily perfumed body lotions available in discount stores in Aus, so there’s no way you can tempt me in America.

Needless to say, I didn’t buy anything. I checked out the majority of the store,d my eyes grew wider as I spent more time in it. My travel friend, MO, had to leave, as her tolerance for cheap goods is much lower than mine.

So… for all the Aussies, in future, take the Bath & Body Works YouTube reviews with a pinch of salt… And for the Americans… Please explain?

Until next time…

20140611-085727.jpg

2 thoughts on “US Beauty Burn: Bath & Body Works

Leave a Reply

