Is it worth the hype? [Naked 3 Palette]

The long-awaited and much-discussed Urban Decay Naked Palette 3… was it worth the wait? Was it going to be a let down like Naked 2? Will they ever be able to repeat the success of the original Naked palette?

In terms of the last question, if you measure success on the quality and initiative of the first palette, then no, I don’t think that can ever be repeated. If you base it on pure sales, I think Urban Decay will constantly get huge sales from their Naked products, simply because of the beauty cult and hype that surrounds it. It most definitely is not a let down like the Naked 2 was for me. Naked 2 was far too silver-toned for me (my most hated eyeshadow shade is silver), so Naked 2 didn’t get much interest or use by me. Naked 3 was promoted as a rose gold toned palette, and it really does fit that description.

Naked 3In typical Naked fashion, the palette comes with a brush, which I have clearly not used. I’ve used the brush from the original Naked palette which is excellent quality, so I expect this to be the same. There are 12 shades that are the size equivalent of a full-sized eyeshadow. As expected, the shadows are excellent quality – highly pigmented and easy to work with – applying and blending. My top 3 shades have to be:
Blackheart  – a really dark, smokey shade (it’s the last shade in the palette). It has a shimmer through it, and blends beautifully. It really doesn’t compare with anything from previous Naked palettes.
Liar – a shimmery brown-mauve shade, that highlights beautifully with Blackheart, and is really quite a different shade.
Buzz – now this seems to sum up the entirety of the Naked 3 palette – a classic rose-gold shade. I don’t find this as wearable as some of the other shades, but it is quite unique to this palette.

Eyes

 

 

Here’s me looking at you (while wearing Naked 3)…

 

 

Would I buy it again? I can’t see myself needing it again anytime soon, due to my severe addiction to palettes. But yes, I would want this to be in a my makeup collection permanently.
Who would I recommend it to? Palette lovers, and neutrals lovers.
Is it value for money? $US54 is a bargain for 12 full shadows!
How can you get it? Aussie buyers can source this on Beauty Bay for $82.10. If you know anyone travelling to the US, it’s worth requesting! Don’t bother waiting for Sephora Australia, as they have informed us recently that Urban Decay won’t be stocked here. Boo hiss.

5 thoughts on “Is it worth the hype? [Naked 3 Palette]

  1. Pingback: Shine bright like a diamond | If irritation occurs… discontinue use.

  2. I love my Naked 3! I skipped the Naked 2 after seeing the colour range on my US trip as I couldn’t justify the need for it being an avid fan of my original Naked. Blackheart is a gorgeous shade. It is my new Darkhorse.

Leave a Reply

