Lock It In: Spray

The final step: tshhhhhh. That’s the sound of the spray, in case you were confused. My personal preferred use of sprays is for long days where I want my makeup to stay on point or when I have serious party makeup. This does not stretch to work days or short events – there is something about these sprays that make me feel too sealed in and therefore prone to breakouts. I don’t actually break out when wearing them, but mentally they feel a bit weird to wear on a daily basis.

STAGE 3: SPRAY

Urban Decay

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 11.55.03 am.png

Ok, this stuff is the bomb. This was my first foray into setting sprays and what a good bloody foray that turned out to be. Urban Decay has three types: All Nighter, De-Slick Oil Control and Chill ($49/Mecca). I’m an All Nighter gal – I figure if you control oil with primer and powder, the spray step is really all about just making sure none of it moves.

Model in a Bottle

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 11.59.09 am.png

Yup, the name is dumb/humorous but this is one of the original HG’s of setting sprays. It used to come in a really tacky looking perfume style bottle, but I see now they are trying to look more professional. They have two sprays (Original & Sensitive Skin) as well as an eyebrow sealer and lipstick sealer – haven’t used eyebrow or lips version, so can’t vouch for those. It’s an American product which can be found on Makeup and Glow ($35).

Makeup Forever

Screen Shot 2016-03-29 at 12.02.35 pm.png

Argh, I love this stuff even more than the Urban Decay spray. The Urban Decay just feels a bit too wet, whereas this stuff feels a bit lighter. It really does lock everything in and for me is party use only ($17 30mL/Sephora & $39 125mL/Sephora). I have had the travel version for 18 months, and although I don’t use it a lot, it has stretched further than I expected.

MAC has their classic and well-known Prep + Prime Fix + which a lot of people use as a setting spray. From what I understand, it is actually not a setting spray, but rather a spray to use prior to makeup application. I won’t lie, I’ve spritzed it at the end of my makeup at times, but more to give myself a glow, rather than to set my makeup. Use this to wet brushes and change looks when you need to add liquid, but don’t trick yourself into using this as a setting spray – you will be disappointed.

So, that ends my “Lock It In” series. Hope you enjoyed it and found it helpful – if you are about to hit the wedding guest circuit, you are set!

If irritation occurs, discontinue use… 

Leave a Reply

