Travel Ready: Colour

Yes, believe it or not… I’m back. This blog is officially not dead… it will die when I get over makeup and beauty… which will be when I’m dead.

I hope you’re all well and are still loving all things skin and beauty. Thanks for all of those people in my life who have kept encouraging me to blog, despite my extended period of silence. Quite simply – life is busy – but you all understand that.

2017 is turning out to be a year of travel for me (I’m browsing some cheap flights whilst writing this), and although I’m not a champion packer (I am that person who holds their breath as they place their bags on the scale), I do have some seasoned tips for those who may not travel much, or have travelled prior to discovering their beauty passion.

When I travel, I want colour and variety with my makeup – and minimal packaging. I keep all of my makeup in a case while away, so the more items I need to get out, the longer my daily face takes. I’m not going to go into detail regarding my foundation and brushes, as I am not really a minimalist in that area – I still need my foundation to perfectly match my skin whether I’m at home or in Hawaii. I also like having some brush variety, so tend to have one each of the main brushes I use (e.g. buffer eye brush, foundation brush, face powder brush, etc).

If you are looking for some ideas on how to condense your travel makeup, read on for some products and theories that will help you achieve this.

COLOUR: Face

The Becca Afterglow palette was gifted to me last year and has proven itself to be a handy little travel tool. This comes with three highlighters and two blushes – though the pinky highlighter (second from the left in the image) definitely doubles as a light day-time blush. One little light-weight palette that gives you a great variety of looks. I’m not into true travel palettes, and this doesn’t claim to be one – which is what makes it so good.

becca_afterglowpalette001

COLOUR: Eyes

I admit that I love a classic brown smokey eye. I remember getting my first brown Innoxa eyeshadow from the bargain bin at Priceline and rubbing it all over my eyes everyday before school – and I’ve never looked back.

The Tarte In Bloom palette gives you enough choices so that you can do an everyday look, or add some darker shades for a more dramatic evening eye. If you won’t feel satisfied with this kind of palette, pack an alternative palette, or add some single eyeshadows – your options and satisfaction will quickly increase. The size of Tarte In Bloom also makes this travel-ready – I personally think only Amrezy can justify travelling with multiple Morphe palettes.

My other tip is to take some basics – if you don’t normally wear liquid eyeliner on a regular basis, what are the chances that you will bust it out in Disneyland? Take a black and a brown eyeliner (again, I know brown isn’t for everybody) or take a pencil and a liquid. Leave the green eyeliner for a party at home.

tarte in bloom.jpg

Colour: Lips

As tempting as it is… you really don’t need a huge variety for a few days away from home. If you don’t usually wear orange on your lips, you probably won’t need it in Singapore.

Personally, my safe travel bet is to take an everyday shade, a nude and a bright lip colour. Those with very sharp eyes (or those who are familiar with my makeup bag) may be able to spot the plastic wrapping on my NYX lip creme – it has travelled with me a handful of times and never gets used – but is there just in case I feel like it. With these colours and combinations,  I only need two lip pencils for three to four different looks, and all of these products take up minimal space.

So, there it is – my comeback post. Travelling is so much fun, and you will have pictures for a lifetime – so whack on a little lippie so you can get a decent profile picture, which shows off how well travelled you are, whilst also ensuring you look #flawless 😉

If you have any beauty travel tips, please leave a comment below!

And remember… if irritation occurs, discontinue use. 

Leave a Reply

